In a building property of the Jewish Community of Thessaloniki, erected in 1904, the Jewish Museum opened in 2001 in order to preserve and study the memory of the Jewish presence in the city. It is one of the few centrally located buildings that survived the great fire of 1917. The Museum galleries are extended in two levels. The ground floor is dedicated to the old Jewish cemetery of Thessaloniki, which spread over what the University is today, most probably since 15th . At the upper floor, in Simon Marks section, the permanent exhibition “Thessaloniki Metropolis of Sephardites” is displayed – one similar exhibition is located at the Beth Lohamei Agetaoth Kibbutz in Israel -, including information about the history of Judaism in Thessaloniki and its main fields of activities interrupted by the Holocaust. On the left side of the main gallery, the new section of the museum is dedicated to Adreas Sephiha. The upper floor hosts a permanent exhibition about the Jewish communities in Northern Greece, while the ground floor hosts periodical ones.
- 40.635145, 22.939471
- Working hours:
Junction of Venizelou Street & Agiou Mina Street