Old Central Pumping Station – Water Supply Museum


  • Coordinates:

    40.642026, 22.914211

  • Address:

    26th October 47

The complex was constructed in the late 19th century (1890-1894) located approximately 1,500 meters from the western walls of the historic center of Thessaloniki. Management and exploitation of Thessaloniki’s water supply project was undertaken by the Ottoman Water Company (Compagnie Ottomane des Eaux de Salonique), which was founded in 1888 by Belgian financiers based in Istanbul. The project was constructed by Belgians technicians.

Today the building of the old Central Pump Station houses the Water Museum.